Toulouse Blagnac Airport (TLS)
History, Facts and Overview
(Toulouse, France, FR)
Toulouse has an aviation history dating back as early as 1913, although it was not until 1928 that Blagnac Airport came into existence, being used as both a civil and commercial airfield. The airport was much used by the nearby southerly factories of the St-Martin-du-Touch, only to suffer considerable damage during WWII.
By the late 1940s, much of Toulouse Blagnac Airport had been repaired and restored, and the runway lengthened to 2,500 metres / 8,200 feet. The year of 1953 saw the opening of the airport's very first passenger terminal and soon after, additional improvements to accommodate larger aircraft.
During the next two decades, the runway was extended further, and in 1978, the secondary Blagnac 2 terminal was inaugurated. More recent developments at Toulouse Blagnac Airport include the building of a covered parking garage, with spaces for 2,500 vehicles, and an economy parking area (P5), which opened in 2005.
Of the many shopping options available, visitors can find reading material at the outlet of Relay, along with regional products, leather goods, and duty-free wine, spirits, jewellery and more. Business facilities include private meeting rooms of various sizes, which can be equipped as needed, as well as fax, photocopy and computer facilities.
Several restaurants, cafés and bars can be found within the terminal halls at Blagnac Airport, serving a wide variety of simple French food and pastry snacks. Also of interest, the Internet can be accessed via WiFi and dedicated Internet terminals.